The Hipster Christian

Paumanhin kung matagal akong hindi nakapagblog. Naglakbay uli ang inyong lingkod sa isang lugar na hindi ko lubos maisip na mapupuntahan—ang bansang Israel. Napakagandang lugar, pramis! Pero pagbalik ko sinalubong na ako ng mag trabaho at ngayon palang uli ako nakakaahon. Na miss ko rin magsulat. Kaya . . .

Welcome back!!!😀

Habang nag-iisip akong magandang return-of-the-comeback blog, yung tipong mapapatumbling kayo sa tuwa, naisip ko maging simple nalang muna. Simple lang pero madalas kong napapansin sa karamihan ng mga “Christians.” Hindi lahat, pero madami. At tulad ko, naging guilty din ako dito—ang pagiging Hipster Christian.

Ipaliwanag ko muna kung ano ang hipster, actually, madami itong kahulugan. Isa sa mga description ng pagiging Hipster ay ang pagsalungat nila sa mga “mainstream societal conventions” (Naks! Big words). In short, basta “masa” ayaw nila or hindi sila nakikiuso. They consider themselves cool because they don’t go with the flow and they have their own identity. Wala naman masama dun diba? Wala naman, pero sa akin sariling opinion, masama na ito kapag nagiging elite group na. Maslalo na kapag Christian ka.

So ano naman ang hipster Christian? Hindi ko alam kung nag-eexist na ang phrase na ito pero para sa akin sila yung mga naging “cool” na Christian because they say the right Christian terms, hang out with the “right people,” prays everyday, knows their bible pretty much, but shuns the sinners.

Hipster Christians are so religious they forget to love the sinners, like you and me. They forgot that they too are sinners and needs Jesus, just like very one else. They’ve kept the knowledge of Christ to themselves and created their own little club. No wonder there’s a growing number of people who abhors Christians.

Jesus came here on earth to reach down to the people, to love us and bring us back to God. When he saw the crowd he had compassion on them. He went where they are and healed them, fed them, taught them how to live. But more than all of these, He came down from heaven to earth to die for us and pay the penalty of our sins.

Our sins.

You and me—the mainstream and the hipsters.

Let’s be like Jesus. Let’s step out of our little hipster club and dive into the world where God’s love is most needed. It’s not going to be a comfortable life but I assure you it’s going to be worth it.🙂

 

  Current mood: Busy. Very.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Hipster Christian

  1. Nice post. Yes, that term exists. I am currently reading this book called “Hipster Christianity: When Church and Cool Collide” by Brett McCracken. When I saw the title of your post, I even thought you are referring to that book.

Leave a Reply

