The Teacher With the Multi-colored Notebook

Teacher Joel, my Sunday school teacher, was not my favorite. He “sprays” when he speaks (if you know what I mean) and I don’t like his hair. I was five years old at that time and I have no choice but to listen to him (and dodge his “sprays” if I’m lucky. Please forgive me teacher Joel).

One Sunday, it was his duty to teach in kids church, the only students he had was me and my sister. I don’t know if he remembers it but I do. In his hand he held this little multi-colored notebook; no words just colors. Using that, he told us a story that changed my life.

He opened the notebook.

Page 1: Black
He explained that my heart is dirty. It is filthy, dark, and evil. There is no way that I can make it clean–not even my good works nor good intentions.

Page 2: Red
But because God wants my heart to be clean, He sent His Son Jesus to be the ultimate sacrifice. Meaning, He has to die on the cross in order for me to live. His blood washed my sins away.

Page 3: White
Now, because of what Jesus did my heart is now clean, pure, free from all sins.

Page 4: Green
We can now enjoy our new life in God. Not to live in sin but to obey Him and enjoy Him.

Page 5: Gold
We are now brought in His Kingdom. We are now part of His family. Through Jesus, we can call God, our Father.

He closed the notebook and asked us if we believe on what Jesus did on the cross for us and if we welcome Him as His Lord and Savior. We said “yes” and we prayed.

I was 5 years old at that time. But because of that simple explanation of the Gospel it led me to live my life under Jesus’ Lordship. I was spared to make stupid decisions that would ruin my life. My King saved and protected me.

The Gospel is not that complicated, a person who is really changed by it can share it to anyone, in any occasion, in any way possible. If a person is ashamed to share the Gospel then probably he/she is not really convinced of what Jesus did on the cross.

If we all understand that the greatest problem of this world is sin and the only solution is God, then will we not bring the solution to this world by sharing the Gospel?

I thank people like teacher Joel who’s willing to share the Gospel to five year-old kids, or those people who risk their reputation, most importantly, their lives just to share the Gospel.

I tell you, great is their reward in heaven.

image

Current mood: In awe

Leave a Reply

