Love Wins

I have read and seen some facebook posts about the legalization of same-sex marriage. I have been quiet about the whole issue and would only speak unless I was asked about my opinion. But today I am breaking my silence and will say what’s inside my heart.

I am not pleased with what has happened in America, the news breaks my heart. Not just because of the legalization of this law, but more on how the Christian churches have reacted. I am not, in any way, including all Christian churches. I do believe there are churches who are doing a great job of honoring God and loving the people. Also, I am not just addressing this to the Christians in America but to the Christians all around the world.

People — male, female, young, old, poor, rich want to be loved. We crave for it; we write songs, poems, and stories about it; we paint pictures in our head what a loving family or community will look like. All of us crave for love and we, the church, should be the ones who are in the forefront in loving them. Instead we became judgmental, smug, proud of how good we are in the sight of God and we have forgotten about Jesus and what He did for us and for these people.

He came to this earth because He loves us. Jesus was dubbed as the “friend of sinners” because he loves them and who are we not to follow in His footsteps.

(11)For this is the message that you have heard from the beginning, that we should love one another. (16)By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. – 1 John 3:11,16

For example, (and I have seen this happen in real life) what do we do when a cross-dresser enters our church building? Do we laugh at them, look at them as if they are the scums of the earth? Or do we welcome them and love them as our brother or sister? Most of the church has been successful in rejecting them and judging them and we have been so loud in the social media by showing how immoral they are and how clean we are and yet we have been silent and apathetic in showing the love of Jesus to them. That, my beloved, grieves me.

If we have been loving people, then they won’t be looking for love anywhere else. Where can they find love and respect they want and deserve if we, the church, won’t lavishly give it to them? We do not want to misrepresent Jesus, do we?

(34)A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. (35)By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” – John 13:34-35

Rainbow

Photo credit: pinterest.com

I have also seen how Christians have reacted because the LGBT community have used the rainbow to symbolize gay pride where in fact it is a symbol of God’s covenant to His people and the earth. I want to look at the positive side of it and it gives me hope, instead of seeing the symbol being desecrated, I’d rather see it as a reminder of God’s love to them. How? Let’s look at the passage. This is after the great flood . . .

“Then Noah built an altar to the LORD and took some of every clean animal and some of every clean bird and offered burnt offerings on the altar. And when the LORD smelled the pleasing aroma, the LORD said in his heart, ‘I will never again curse the ground because of man, for the intention of man’s heart is evil from his youth. Neither will I ever again strike down every living creature as I have done. While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.’” – Genesis 8:20-22

This symbol will serve a reminder of God’s love to humanity. This Holy God knows how evil we are but His love still remains. Church, I hope we will not just fast and pray about this but we will also be the answer to our prayers, let us continue to be the light and salt of this world and let us continue to love one another as Christ have loved us.

Why? Because love wins.

160  current mood: successful first blog for 2015!

8 thoughts on “Love Wins

  1. Thank you for this blog, Anna. This is a good reminder to everyone to look back to the One who has displayed the perfect love. And that, eventually, His Truth will prevail.

Leave a Reply

