One Important Lesson Traveling has Taught me

I’ve been traveling a lot lately and there is one important lesson that stuck and changed my life completely. Now, there are a lot of lessons I’ve learned while going to different places and meeting different people but I just want to share this one simple yet life changing lesson.

I’ve learned to number my days. Yes, it is a simple as that. You see, traveling with people or alone taught me how to manage my time well, keep a calendar, and fulfill every single task on time. Traveling forces me to think about the travel time and strategize how to go from one place to the next in the shortest amount of time. Why? Because time is precious. My reasoning, if I miss my plane, if I miss my bus, if miss my boat, I don’t just miss my mode of transportation but I miss my opportunity to meet amazing people, miss an experience, miss the sunset, miss the sunrise, and so much more. Every minute counts.

image

Photo from: pinterest.com

A day is composed of 24 hours and it is so easy to spend one day until you realize one week have passed and you have done nothing to move forward. Traveling has taught me that a day wasted means I will be left behind.

The Bible also teaches us the same thing, Proverbs 90:12 tells us,

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

You don’t have to be a traveler to apply this lesson. If we learn to number our days, we learn to live a better life; we make better decisions; we make every moment count. So I ask God to teach me to number my days because everyday is His gift to us, and how I spend every moment is my act of worship to Him.

  Current mood: Busy but happy

Leave a Reply

