Outrageous Love: Part 2

Over the past centuries lot of individuals, movement, religion, and whatnot have misrepresented Jesus. They do their plans “in the name of Jesus” hurting and killing so many lives. Sad thing about it is that Jesus’ name is still being used for their own personal gain.

I’m not writing this to defend His divinity, I am writing this to somehow tell you, my beloved readers, why Jesus came and did what He did when He was here on earth, and the WHY behind WHAT He did is far more important to me. But before anything else, I do not claim to be a theologian, I am though, a Christian who’s been smitten by this outrageous love that only He (Jesus) can give.

One day when I went home to visit my mom, one of our cute dogs, Coleen, approached me with her tail wagging like crazy, then she dropped something on my foot like a gift from her to me. To my surprise horror it’s not a toy but a cockroach, barely alive twitching and turning trying to escape his uh . . . death. So I shook my leg horrendously wanting to get that thing off my foot. But my dog was just so happy, she offered her gift of love and who am I to complai? But I don’t need her gift, I don’t need her pet cockroach, I just want to play with her.

photo credit: pinterest.com

We humans are somehow like Coleen, we come to God and we offer our gifts of love, our sacrifices, our good works trying to please Him — our Master. But God doesn’t need our gifts for He owns everything, He doesn’t need our talents nor our good works, He just wants you and me. All this sacrifices and good deeds are like filthy rags to Him (or like that cockroach). God is not an insecure God that if you don’t do certain religious stuff He’ll be sad or mad at us. In reality, He was the One who gave the ultimate sacrifice so that we can enjoy Him forever. I’m not talking about hyper grace here, but I am presenting this outrageous, lavish love He wants to give us.

Now about good works and obedience to His word and commands, we still have to obey that. Not to show how much you love Him but for us to know how much He loves us, so that we may understand His will and know, by obeying, His will is good, pleasing and perfect for us.

How then do we receive this “outrageous love”? By simply admitting that, by your own good works, you cannot merit His love. We can only get it if we receive it by faith. Acknowledge that it is only through Jesus that we can go to God — nothing more, nothing less. Some may be offended by its simplicity, some may not even accept Jesus. But Jesus is not moved to love you more if you love him back or not, because even before He went to that cross He had already decided to love you and me extravagantly. And now the question remains, will you accept that love? If you do then I want you to pray and tell God that you want to receive that love and acknowledge that it is only through Jesus you can receive that eternal love from the Him, our Father.

46  Current mood: loved.

Leave a Reply

